Tayabas-born but Sampaloc bred, VICTOR EMMANUEL CARMELO D. NADERA JR  is an Associate Professor at the University of the Philippines where he became the Director of the Likhaan: U.P. Institute of Creative Writing.  Vim holds BS and MA Psychology degrees from the University of Santo Tomas, and completed his PhD in Philippine Studies at the University of the Philippines Diliman.

​A practitioner of arts-based psychological interventions since 1993, Vim has worked with cancer survivors, persons with AIDS, drug dependents,  “comfort women,” street children, sexually abused children, and men and women caught in crossfire, human-made, and natural calamities. In 1996, he wrote a play Sens Op Tyumor  wherein cancer victims became victors as actors .

Together with his wife Ellay, he founded the Foundation for Advancing Wellness, Instruction, and Talents Inc. (Foundation AWIT) in 2008. 

​Vim is currently the Director of the Philippine High School for the Arts.
Awards and Recognitions

South East Asian Write Award, Royal Ballroom, Bangkok, Thailand, 2006

Rizal International Filipino Poetry Contest, Knights of Rizal, 1996

​Patnubay ng Sining at Kalinangan, Office of Manila Mayor, 2010

Juan C. Laya Award for Best Novel in Filipino, Manila Critics Circle, 2007

Natatanging Anak ng Tayabas, Office of the Mayor, Tayabas, Quezon, 2006

The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM), Junior Chamber International Philippines, 2003

Natatanging Anak ng Quezon, Office of the Governor, Quezon Province, 2003

National Centennial Commission Literary Prize (Novel), 1998

National Centennial Commission Literary Prize (Epic Poetry), 1998

Gawad Balagtas, Komisyon ng Wikang Filipino,1998

Gantimpalang Collantes, Talaang Ginto (Sanaysay), 1996

Gantimpalang Collantes, Talaang Ginto (Tula), 1992, 1994

National Book Award, Manila Critics Circle, 1995

Cultural Center of the Philippines Grant for the Essay, 1994

Cultural Center of the Philippines Grant for Playwriting, 1992

Carlos  Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, Carlos Palanca Foundation, 1992

​MOWELFUND  Film  and Video Grant, Movieworkers Welfare Foundation,1990

Carlos Bulosan  Award for Poetry, Carlos Bulosan Foundation, 1990

Makata ng Taon (Poet of the Year), Surian ng Wikang Pilipino, 1985

Artist I, University of the Philippines Arts Productivity System, 2009-2012, 2013-2016

Dangal ng Quezon High, 110th Quezon National High School Founding Anniversary and Grand Alumni Homecoming, Queen Margarette Hotel, Lucena City, 6 October 2012

U.P.Centennial Publications for [H]istoryador[A], UP Diliman, QC, 2008

U.P.Centennial Publications for Mujer Indigena, UP Diliman, QC, 2008

U.P.Centennial Publications for Aklat Likhaan (Dula), UP Diliman, QC, 2008

The Outstanding Thomasian Award (TOTAL), UST, Manila, 2007

80th Anniversary Jubilee Achievement Award, College of Science, UST,Manila, 2007

U.P. Portfolio Professorial Chair, UP Diliman, QC, 2005

Fr. Angelo de Blas Outstanding Achievement Award, UST, Manila, 2004

Federico Alcuaz Professorial Chair Award, UP Diliman, QC, 2004

Gawad Chanselor as Outstanding Artist,  UP Diliman, QC, 2002, 2003, 2004

Natatanging Publikasyon sa Filipino Award, UP Diliman, QC, 2002

Leopoldo Yabes Award as Outstanding Assistant Professor,  UP Diliman, QC, 2001

Creative Work and Research Scholarship Fund, UP Diliman, QC, 2000

Nancy Sena Faculty Grant, UP Diliman, QC, 2000

Gawad Chanselor as Outstanding Artist,1999

Cum laude, Master of Arts in Psychology, University of Santo Tomas, Manila, 1996

Ten Outstanding Thomasian Writers, UST, Manila, 1995

Rector’s  Faculty Development Grant, UST, Manila, 1994

​Varsitarian Scholar, UST, Manila,1983-1986

Organizations/Affiliations Commissioner,  UNESCO Philippines 2012 to present

Member, Technical Panel on Literature Screening Committee, Center of Excellence/Center of Development, Commission on Higher Education, 2012 - present

Treasurer, Foundation for Advancing Wellness, Instruction and Talent, 2007-present

Organizer, Conspiwriters Tuesdays, Conspiracy Garden Cafe, QC, 2003-present

Board Member, Philippine Center for Gifted Education, 2002- present

Panelist, U.P. National Writers Workshop 1997 - present

​Member, Philippine High School for the Arts Advisory Council, 2008-2013

Chair, Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas, UP Diliman, QC, 2007-2010

​Secretary-General, Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas, QC, 2001-2007

​Founding Board Member, Kapisanan ng May K sa Pilipinas, QC, 1994-2007

Fellow, Silliman University Summer Writers Workshop, Dumaguete City, 1989

Fellow, Silliman University Semestral Writers Workshop, Dumaguete City, 1988

​Fellow, University of the Philippines Writers Workshop, UP Diliman, QC, 1987

​Founder, USTETIKA Annual Awards for Literature, 1986